Auto Insurance Minimums for Texas
The state of Texas requires by law that all drivers have minimum liability coverage in the amount of 25/50/25. This ratio breaks down to $25K of Liability Bodily Injury coverage per person, $50K of Liability Bodily Injury coverage per accident, and $15K of Property Damage coverage. This may seem like a lot, but it is very easy to find reasonable auto insurance quotes if you take the time to shop around.
The state’s Department of Insurance strongly suggests that drivers purchase more than the minimum requirements in addition to uninsured/underinsured motorist protection (UM/UIM).
Choosing to drive without insurance in Texas will result in the suspension of your license for up to one year. You will also have to pay a $175 – $350 fine and a license reinstatement fee in addition to application fees. It is far better to be covered. Purchasing car insurance is simple. Using resources like Save Today you can easily find affordable auto insurance quotes. Just consider the financial and emotional stress of the alternative.
Texas DUI Law
Texas takes drinking and driving extremely seriously, and has a no-tolerance policy when it comes to DUI. If you get caught driving under the influence—even if you have a perfect driving history—you will face fines up to $2,000 and you will go to jail.
The blood alcohol concentration level limit in the state of Texas is 0.08%, although if you are caught with a BAC of 0.15% or higher you could face even harsher charges. Drinking and driving may also raise your auto insurance quotes in the long run, because insurance companies will see you as a high risk driver with a history of recklessness on the road.
Texas Teen Driving Laws/Auto Insurance Requirements
The Texas Graduated Licensing program (GDL) has two major phases that teens must complete: an instruction permit phase and a provisional license phase. After completing these phases a teen may apply for an unrestricted license.
DUI laws in Texas state that it is against the law for any teen to drive with a BAC of 0.02% or higher. If a teen is caught drinking and driving, they may face license suspension for up to 90 days.
Teens must drive with the Texas state minimum liability coverage. However, it is strongly advisable for teens to drive with more coverage than the minimum amount. Teens can lower their auto insurance premiums by maintaining a B average in school and completing a state approved driver safety program.