California auto insurance facts

Auto Insurance Minimums for California

Drivers in the state of California must carry a minimum auto insurance coverage ratio of 15/30/5. This works out to about $15,000 in Liability Bodily Injury coverage per person injured, $30,000 of Liability Bodily Injury coverage per accident and $5,000 of Property Damage coverage per accident.

The California Department of Insurance recommends purchasing approximately $100,000 for bodily injury and $300,000 per accident, plus uninsured motorist insurance since more than 18 percent of all California motorists are uninsured. Of the 4.1 million drivers that drive without insurance make sure you get your auto insurance quote today.

Being caught without insurance in the Golden State could leave you with a suspended license and an impounded car. On top of the towing and storage fees you may have to pay a fine no less than $100, plus penalties. Multiple citations will result in fines up to $500, plus license suspension.

With the average California auto insurance quote at $1,320, having coverage is worth more than being caught without it.

California DUI Law

Drivers in California face a serious offense if caught while driving under the influence. DUI penalties included interlock and assessments and fines up to thousands of dollars.

The blood alcohol concentration level limit in the state of California is 0.08%. If you are caught driving with a BAC of 0.15% or higher, you may face additional charges.

If you are arrested for a DUI in California, you will have your license suspended for four months, during which time a driver may apply for a limited use license. A person arrested for a DUI will also spend four hours in jail and be given two days of community service. In addition, DUI arrests must complete a 15 week DUI class and will be on probation for three years.

California Teen Driving Laws/Auto Insurance Requirements

Due to extremely high rates of teen auto collision related deaths, California created the Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) program in 1997. California’s GDL program is stricter than most states. To start, teens starting at 15 ½ must apply for and carry a provisional learner’s permit for at least six months.

After receiving a provisional learner’s permit, teens must complete at least six hours of driver training with a professional, as well as complete a state approved driver education course. They must also complete 50 hours of practice driving with a parent or guardian, or a person above the age of 25. After completing these steps, they may apply for a provisional driver’s license.

A teen may then receive what is called an interim license. This is valid for sixty days, during which time a teen’s provisional application may be approved upon the completion of all required tests. After this, a provisional license is awarded, with certain restrictions that expire on the driver’s 18th birthday if the teen maintains a clean driving record.

During the first year of owning a provisional license, a teen may not drive between 11 pm and 5 am. They may also not allow passengers under the age of 20 in the car with them alone.  There are some exceptions to these rules, including medical necessity and employment necessity. In order to assess whether or not a teen is exempt, they should contact their local DMV.

The California Department of Motor Vehicles lists the exceptions to these restrictions below, when reasonable transportation is not available. In addition, the teen driver must carry a note at all times, which explains the necessity and the date when the necessity will end. This rule does not apply to emancipated minors.
In the state of California, it is illegal for a teen to drive a car or any other motor vehicle with a BAC of 0.02% (the amount usually found in just one drink) or above. If caught, a teen will face a DUI and face suspension of their license for one year. If a teen does not possess a license, they must wait one year longer to apply for one. Teens must also complete a DUI program, and any probationary period will continue after their 18th birthday.

Teens must drive with the California state minimum liability coverage. However, it is strongly advisable for teens to drive with more coverage than the minimum amount. Teens can lower their auto insurance premiums by maintaining a B average in school and completing a state approved driver safety pro

Read More:
https://www.carinsurancecheap.net/car-insurance-in-california